Trim

Walk into any home and you can usually discern the architectural style of a house or the period in which it was constructed based upon close inspection of the trim.

Search the phrase historic trim and you will find articles, links, websites and diagrams devoted to this subject. It is a small detail that makes a huge aesthetic impact. It is not an aspect of design that can be easily changed. It is for this reason that I was very deliberate and firm in my choice of trim profile.

Minimal. Simple. Quality materials.

This ADU is an expression of living simple. Living small. Scaling your life to fit the size of your home. It is also evocative of my love of Japanese design, mid century modern, Scandinavian simplicity and NW Pacific craftsmanship.

Below is an image of a Japanese house from 1918. Imagine the photograph is in color and you could easily see this featured in one of todays modern lifestyle magazines. It is a timelessly beautiful interior.

I want this ADU, my “little house”, to be timeless as well. My trim is all natural CVG Douglas Fir, no reveal, slim profile, custom 2″ and 2 1/4″ size. Andy + Bill knew my specific custom size would be a challenge but they were ready to help. I could not be happier with all of their coordinating and hard work. The trim is being ripped down to size, dadoed and scribed on site and installed by Ed. He has done phenomenal work on this ADU and I am so grateful for his skill and patience.

I am thrilled with the results. Hopefully, in 100 years from now, someone will see a photograph of my “little house” and be inspired too.

DSC_1050

all the trimmings of the trim

DSC_1048

the fir GLOWS

DSC_1041

inspecting the installed trim around the windows

DSC_1059

Ed custom cuts each piece to my specified profile dimension

DSC_1060

Darell is a wonderful person to have on the job site

DSC_1066

no reveal

DSC_1061 DSC_1062 DSC_1063 DSC_1043 DSC_1041

Leave a Reply

