the little baird’s nest

One area of the ADU that is very important to me is the sleeping area. It is where you start and end the day. It should be a space where one feels safe and relaxed. A nest.

When designing the space I wanted the second story of the ADU to have a bright and loft-like feel. It needed windows and skylights and comforting space. Originally, we specified sheets of plywood for the flooring as a way to save money and achieve warmth through the use of natural materials. Luckily, we kept crunching numbers so that I was able to make a small splurge and get VG fir floors and risers. For the past 10 years I have worked with the same floor finisher and installer, Ovi. I would not have anyone but him do the work in my home. I am so glad Ovi made the time to work me into his busy schedule and I could not be happier with the results!

A short photo story:

DSC_1083

Look at it! Beautiful. The most lovely stair treads, risers and fir flooring.

DSC_1097

The VG fir will give warmth and natural softness to the bedroom loft.

DSC_1099

Ovi is a dear, sweet soul who I have had the honor of working with for the past 10+ years. He does the best, highest quality work. I would not have anyone else install my new floors in my new home.

DSC_1085

Ovi is thorough. He measures each step individually to make the most precise cuts and exact fit.

DSC_1105

The workman’s tools. Who knew a hatchet was necessary? I like it.

DSC_1103

I love it so much.

Completed pics of the lofted bedroom soon to come!

Leave a Reply

